Organizing elements with content groups

Having clearly organized templates for your content is a great help to your content creators. See how to organize your content types with content groups.

Table of contents

    Content groups are a tool you can use to organize your elements when creating content types. For example, you might decide a content type should include texts and images as well as metadata for SEO purposes. Using content groups, you can create one group for the text and image elements and a second group for the SEO metadata. These groups then show as separate tabs in your content items allowing your contributors to work on only the content group needed at the moment.

    See how to organize your elements through the example of adding a content group for your metadata.

    Creating content groups

    To add a new content group:

    1. From the app menu, choose Content models .
    2. Choose the content type you want to add a content group to.
    3. Click Create new content group.
    4. Enter a name.
    5. Click Create content group.
    6. Save your changes.

    You can add other groups in the same manner.

    Adding elements to content groups

    To add elements to your new content group, click the content group you want to add elements to and drop the elements in the content group.

    Moving elements to other content groups

    If you decide that elements in a content group would fit better in a different group, you can move them.

    To move elements to a different content group, select the checkboxes of the elements you want to move. Then select which content group the elements will be moved to from the drop-down list on the right side. If you do not have a content group that fits the elements yet, select Create a content group from the drop-down menu. Give the new content group a name and click Create content group. The selected elements will be added to the new content group.

    Renaming, reordering, and deleting content groups

    To reorder your content groups, click the content group you want to move. Then drag the group to where you want it using the drag icon.

    You can rename or delete a content group you have added at any time by clicking the More actions button next to the content group you want to rename or delete.

    Deleting content groups used in published content

    Deleting a content group also deletes all the elements it contains. If you delete a content group containing elements used in published content, the published content will also be deleted.

    How your content groups look in content items

    Contributors to your project will see the content groups as tabs under the name for each content item and in any components used in rich text. Content contributors can click the tab that contains the content they need to work with and they will be shown only the elements included in that content group. Only content groups with at least one element are shown as tabs in your content items. If only one content group contains elements, no tabs are shown.

    Any notifications about required elements or limitations are shown as a dot next to the tab of the content group that contains them. Click the tab to see the full notification and what actions you need to take.

    What's next?

    In this article, you learned how to set up content groups to help organize the elements in your content types.