Skip navigation

Configuring roles

Roles define a set of capabilities that you can assign to your users within a project.

Premium feature

Custom roles require a Professional plan or higher.

Table of contents

    Set up roles for different groups of users, such as content contributors, reviewers, developers, and more. For example, you might want to invite a user to your project and give them specific capabilities that other users don't have.

    Note that to configure roles in your project, you'll need the capability to manage custom roles.

    Adding new roles

    In this example, you'll learn how to add a custom role for content contributors.

    1. From the app menu, choose Project settings .
    2. Under Project settings, choose Roles.
    3. Click Create new.
    4. Name the new role, for example, Content contributor.
    5. Select the capabilities for the role, such as view, edit, create, or delete content.
    6. Click Save changes.

    After creating the custom role for content contributors, you can assign it to your users.

    See how to:

    Making changes to roles

    Choose what users can do by adjusting their custom roles. Note that in every Kentico Kontent project, you'll always have the Project manager role that cannot be changed.

    To change the capabilities of the custom roles in your project:

    1. From the app menu, choose Project settings .
    2. Under Project settings, choose Roles.
    3. Click on a custom role to open it.
    4. Make changes as necessary.
    5. Click Save changes.

    After saving the changes, current users that were assigned the role will see the difference in a few moments.

    Deleting roles

    You can delete a custom role in the following cases:

    To delete a role:

    1. From the app menu, choose Project settings .
    2. Under Project settings, choose Roles.
    3. Click on a custom role to open it.
    4. Click Delete.

    The role has been deleted from your project. If you're within your plan limits, you can undo the deletion.

    Note that the Project manager role cannot be deleted from your project.

    What's next?