Skip navigation

Duplicating content items

Sometimes, you might find yourself in a situation when you need a slightly different version of the same content item. Maybe you're A/B testing your landing page and want to change a thing or two to see which version is more appealing to your visitors. Or, you're putting together a new job advertisement for the same job position but in a different local branch.

Let's see how you can create a duplicate of such content items in a few steps.

Table of contents

    Duplicating a content item

    To duplicate a content item:

    1. From the app menu, choose Content & Assets .
    2. Click a content item to open it for editing.
    3. Click More actions in the upper-right corner.
    4. Choose Duplicate.
    5. Choose Including content.

    A duplicate of your content item “Item_name (copy)” is automatically created in the project. The item's workflow step is usually set to the first step in your workflow (by default Draft), though this might differ depending on your workflow permissions.

    Note: If you prefer to create an empty item based on the same content type, you can do so by clicking More actions  > Duplicate > Empty.

    A screenshot of a newly duplicated item.

    Now, you can continue with your content as usual:

    1. Edit the name of the duplicated item in Content item name.
    2. Adjust the content of the elements according to your needs.
    3. (Optional) Assign the item to the person who will continue working on it.

    Each change you make is saved automatically.

    Note: Only the users with a capability to create content can clone content items.

    What gets duplicated

    When creating a copy of a content item, the item gets copied together with all its contents in:

    • Content elements
    • Components
    • Linked content (with its workflow steps preserved)

    If you have several language variants of the content item, all of them get duplicated as well.

    What does not get duplicated

    The following will not get copied:

    • Older versions
    • Due date
    • Contributors
    • Suggestions, comments
    • Notes

    When not to duplicate your content

    Duplicating your content is not always the best option as your content inventory might get easily cluttered by the different copies of the same content. Sometimes, all you need to do is to create a linked item that will contain the information you need to duplicate elsewhere.

    What's next?